Due to routine maintenance, this site may be temporarily unavailable on Sunday, November 27th between the hours of 6 pm and 7 pm. We apologize for any inconvenience.

You are here: Home > Transfer & Recording > Residential Rental Property Disclosure

Residential Rental Property Disclosure

Residential Rental Disclosure - Online Application

Why do I have to register my properties with the County?
(R.C. 5323.02 and 5323.99)

The act requires an owner of “residential rental property” to file certain information with the County Fiscal Office of the county in which the property is located. “Residential rental properties” include real property with one or more dwelling units leased or rented solely for residential purposes, or a mobile home park or a site where lots are leased for parking mobile homes/RVs for residential purposes. This regulation does not pertain to hotels or college dorms.

What information do I have to provide?
If you are an individual owner or a sole proprietor, please include your full name. If the property has multiple individual owners, only one of them is required to file as the contact agent.

If the property is owned by a partnership, corporation, any other business entity, or t rust, please include the name of the entity as well as the name of the corporate officer, manager, member, general partner, or trustee.

The phone number required refers to the primary contact number for the property.

The State of Ohio requires that a contact agent must be designated for a corporation or other business entity. An out-of-state owner must also designate an in-state agent, per Ohio law.

When must this information be filed?
This is a one-time registration with the County and no fee is required. However, you must update this information with the county within 60 days of any change, including weekends and holidays.

You must maintain updated agent contact information.

You must register your residential rental property with the County even if you have registered your rental property with the municipality where it is located.

Failure to file or update incorrect or changed information in a timely manner may result in the assessment of a penalty of $50 following each tax bill for which the information is not filed.

This special assessment can be appealed to the County Board of Revision.
(R.C. 5323.01, 5323.02, 5323.99)

Residential Rental Property Disclosure Form (PDF)

Residential Rental Disclosure Form - Exempt Form (PDF)

Submit questions/comments
 or call the Cuyahoga County Fiscal Office at 216-443-7020.

Thank you.