You are here: Home > General Services > Dog License

Dog License

2019 Dog License Registration
December 1 – January 31

Having a license for your dog isn’t only a law, but it’s also a lost dog's ticket home! When your dog has its license attached to its collar, its assigned license number is all that is necessary for our Office to identify the dog's owner. If you do not buy your dog’s license during this renewal period, Ohio law requires a late fee equal to the cost of the license. There are no provisions in the law to waive the fee.


The Cuyahoga County Fiscal Officer has several options for the purchase of your new or renewal dog licenses: purchase online, visit a Neighborhood Location, or download the PDF application located on this web page and to mail your check or money order made payable to Cuyahoga County Treasurer.



dog on pier with fishing equipment“Ohio law requires owners of dogs to renew their dog license each year between December 1st and January 31st.”

  • One Year licenses (expiring January 31, 2020) - $20.00
  • Three Year licenses (expiring January 31, 2022) - $60.00
  • Permanent licenses (no expiration date) - $200.00

Three Year and Permanent licenses are NOT available for purchase at all Neighborhood Locations, only online or at the Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter and the Cuyahoga County Administrative Headquarters (for addresses, view the list of Neighborhood Locations). You may also print out the interactive Dog License Application by clicking on the link below and mail-in.

$20 Penalty Fee after January 31st 

After January 31st, a penalty fee of $20 will be assessed on the purchase of One Year, Three Year, and Permanent licenses for all dogs older than three months of age.

The penalty can be avoided if you purchase the dog license immediately upon acquiring the dog. After the renewal period of December 1st through January 31st, a penalty will be assessed for all dogs licensed that are older than three months of age and have been owned for more than 30 days. To purchase a dog license after the open renewal period, you must do it in person at the Cuyahoga County Administrative Headquarters or at the Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter.
  

On-time Registration - December 1st -January 31st  Late Registration - After January 31st 
1 Year  3 Year Permanent   1 Year 3 Year Permanent
$20  $60 $200   $40 $80 $220

There are no provisions in the law to waive the fee. Dog owners with questions may contact our office at 216-443-7010.

Click here to purchase dog licenses.


dog in wedding gown with dog wearing a tuxedoPRINTABLE APPLICATION AND FORMS:

MORE INFORMATION: